NASCAR: 2021 Michigan - Full starting lineup, odds

NASCAR is back to the formula to set the starting lineup for this Sunday’s Cup Series race at Michigan International Speedway, the FireKeepers Casino 400.

The last time NASCAR used the starting lineup for a Cup Series race was two Sundays ago at Watkins Glen International, as an actual qualifying session was used for this past Sunday’s inaugural race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

The last time the Cup Series raced on an oval was exactly one month ago today at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in what was the final race before the three-week hiatus caused by NBC’s broadcast commitment of the Summer Olympics in Tokyo, Japan.

But both things are set to change this weekend for the FireKeepers Casino 400.

Where is the FireKeepers Casino 400?

The FireKeepers Casino is a 200-lap race around the four-turn, 2.0-mile (3.219-kilometer) Michigan International Speedway oval in Brooklyn, Michigan. It is the lone race at the track in 2021 following 47 consecutive seasons of the track hosting two separate events, a streak that went all the way back to 1974.

Michigan broadcast information

The Firekeepers Casino 400 is set to be broadcast live from Michigan International Speedway on NBC Sports Network beginning at 3:00 p.m. ET on Sunday, August 22.

Who is on the pole for Michigan?

Hendrick Motorsports’ Kyle Larson is set to start Sunday’s race from the pole position behind the wheel of his #5 Chevrolet alongside teammate Chase Elliott on the front row behind the wheel of his #9 Chevrolet. The full starting lineup, as determined by the starting lineup formula (full rundown on how that works here), is shown below.

Starting Lineup
1st – Kyle Larson
2nd – Chase Elliott
3rd – Ryan Blaney
4th – Matt DiBenedetto
5th – Martin Truex Jr.
6th – Kurt Busch
7th – Kyle Busch
8th – Kevin Harvick
9th – Denny Hamlin
10th – Alex Bowman
11th – Chris Buescher
12th – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
13th – Erik Jones
14th – Tyler Reddick
15th – Bubba Wallace
16th – Ryan Newman
17th – Justin Haley
18th – William Byron
19th – Joey Logano
20th – Brad Keselowski
21st – Chase Briscoe
22nd – Ross Chastain
23rd – Aric Almirola
24th – Corey LaJoie
25th – Michael McDowell
26th – Austin Dillon
27th – Cole Custer
28th – Christopher Bell
29th – Josh Bilicki
30th – Daniel Suarez
31st – Quin Houff
32nd – Ryan Preece
33rd – Garrett Smithley
34th – James Davison
35th – Anthony Alfredo
36th – B.J. McLeod
37th – Cody Ware

Michigan betting odds

Here are the top 10 drivers in terms of the betting odds for the FireKeepers Casino 400, provided by WynnBET.

  • Kyle Larson: +250
  • Chase Elliott: +650
  • Martin Truex: +650
  • Kevin Harvick: +700
  • Kyle Busch: +750
  • Denny Hamlin: +750
  • Joey Logano: +850
  • Brad Keselowski:  +1000
  • Ryan Blaney: +1100
  • William Byron: +1100

Download the WynnBET App in New JerseyIndiana or Colorado.

Michigan betting prediction

I’m taking the easy way out and saying pick Kyle Larson. Not only is he leading the Cup Series with five wins through 24 races this season, two more than anybody else, but Michigan International Speedway is, flat-out, his best race track.

He earned his first career victory at the track back in 2016, and that started what was not only a three-race winning streak at Michigan International Speedway but a four-race winning streak at 2.0-mile ovals, as he went on to win the race at Auto Club Speedway the following season before sweeping the races at Michigan International Speedway as well.

Keep in mind, he pulled this off with Chip Ganassi Racing. With all due respect to Chip Ganassi’s team, Larson is in better equipment now with Hendrick Motorsports, so he should be even better at the track where he claimed half of his six wins as the driver of the #42 Chevrolet.

Aside from Larson, don’t sleep on Stewart-Haas Racing’s Kevin Harvick. He hasn’t had the best of seasons in 2021 after a nine-win 2020 campaign, but +700 for the driver who has won four of the last five, including both last year and each of the last three, races at Michigan International Speedway is quite tempting. Overall, he is a five-time winner at the track.

Since the start of the 2016 season, there has only been one winner (among active drivers, that is) other than Larson and Harvick at Michigan International Speedway, and that other driver also has multiple wins at the track during that span. That driver, Team Penske’s Joey Logano, could be a solid option at +1000. He is a three-time winner at the track, having won in 2013, 2016 and 2019.

Make your pick now in New JerseyIndiana or Colorado, and be sure to start your free trial of FuboTV today if you have not yet done so!

Previous articleJason Weaver’s Friday 7 to shine at York Ebor Festival
Next articlePaddy Power’s 4 to score at York on Friday